Rhys Marsh

Solo Covers EP!

11th September 2013

After four albums with The Autumn Ghost, I’m about to unleash my first solo release! It’s a five-song EP of covers, called ‘Suspended In A Weightless Wind‘, and will be released on the 30th of September. There will only be 100 CDs printed, all of which I’ll hand-number and sign. Pre-orders will begin soon.

As a taster, here’s the first song from the EP — ‘Things Behind The Sun‘, written by Nick Drake.

Thank you to Mark Barton, editor of the legendary publication Losing Today, for this very poetic preview:

“One of the most mercurial moments from Drake’s preciously limited catalogue, ’Things Behind The Sun’, as reworked by Marsh, is shimmered to the sweet allure of whispering strings, by way of accentuating and magnifying its bittersweet opine. Marsh adeptly hones in on that sense of quiet euphoria, stolen in faraway introspective detachment. Where Drake sours the sweetness in winter-lined reflection, Marsh wraps it warmly, investing a grounded majesty to the workbook; bathing and un-tethering the textures, in a vividly-lush panoramic framing, that adds rather than detracts, one suspects, to Drake’s intended aural vision.”

« Back to News