Rhys Marsh

Review: Losing Today (English)

19th September 2007

Absolutely inspiring and gorgeous, albeit heartbreaking, classical-countered sophisticated pop from this multi-national orchestra (the Autumn Ghost), fronted by Norwegian based Rhys Marsh (as in Rhys Marsh and…). This collective carve and craft vivid, vibrant, emotionally colossal, sublimely stately and elegant wide-screen pop of the highest order, that delicately caresses and rises with tumultuous intensity at the drop of a hat.
All at once intricate and measured, ‘Can’t Stop The Dreaming’ embraces the same sweet solemnity of Nick Drake, albeit that’ll be Nick Drake working behind the scenes, collaborating with a supergroup made up of members of the Dream Academy, fronted by David Sylvian, with the breathlessly sweeping orchestrations mapped and annotated by Ryuichi Sakamoto. More fragile in design, ‘All Lights Fades’ is similarly touched and tendered with a fading introspective beauty, braided by a seductively arresting canter-like rustic-hued collage.

A single, ‘I Will Find A Way To Reach You’, is currently out and about, deserving of much love and affection, we suspect.

Mark Barton

« Back to News